The Race to the Pole Roald Amundsen and Robert Scott – 1911-1912

Cool Antarctica:

The attainment of the South Pole by Roald Amundsen ahead of Robert Scott has frequently described Amundsen as the winner in a race.  Over a hundred years later there is still debate about the events, how well the two men were prepared, how they conducted themselves, what role luck had to play and not least of their legacies. They both led five man teams to the pole, though while Amundsen’s team returned alive and well, Scott’s party all died on the return journey.