Diary of an Advisory Committee: Madison Board of Education Selects Citizen Advisors

On August 13, Madison Board President Bill Keys and I agreed to recommend nine citizens plus the two student School Board members to the 2004-05 Advisory Committee to the Long Range Planning Committee.
On August 30, the Board will vote on the nominations:
Hardin Coleman (nominated by Johnny Winston, Jr.)
Dawn Crim (nominated by Johnny Winston, Jr.)
Joan Eggert (nominated by Bill Keys)
Jill Jokela (nominated by Carol Carstensen)
Lucy Mathiak (nominated by Ruth Robarts)
Patrick Mooney (nominated by Bill Clingan)
Jan Sternbach (nominated by Juan Lopez)
Teresa Tellez-Giron (nominated by Juan Lopez) and
Xa Xiong (nominated by Shwaw Vang).
The student members are the students elected to serve on the Board for 2004-05: Oliver Kiefer and Lena Song (alternate).

The first meeting with citizens as non-voting advisors is also on August 30.
At this meeting the citizens will review decisions of the Long Range Planning Committee from last May and June. During the year, the Long Range Planning Committee will review administrative recommendations regarding referendum for deferred maintenance and for new elementary schools.
Several of the nominees were active supporters of the June 2003 referendum for operating funds, including Jan Sternbach who provided leadership for “Citizens for Investing in Madison Schools”, a pro-referendum campaign organization.